Yokainoshima, spirits of Japan

7th of July 2018 - 25th of August 2019

 
 
 
CF035303_test.jpg

The exhibition

In Japan, divinities and supernatural beings are omnipresent. Throughout the year, during masked rituals, costumes are worn to ask them for protection, riches and happiness. The exhibition creates links between the contemporary photographs of Charles Fréger, which depict a large number of ritual masked figures, and the museum's Japanese collections.

Allow yourself to be guided through this island of spirits and monsters, from the foundations of Japanese spirituality to modern-day practices, such as manga, cosplay and video games.

This exhibition is part of Franco-Japanese commemorations and the associated programme 'Japonismes 2018'

 

 
 
YOKAINOSHIMA_Charles FREGER (2).jpg

Charles Fréger - Photographic portraits and uniforms

Since the beginning of the 2000s, Charles Fréger has worked throughout the world on series of portraits within groups engaged in an experience of collective belonging, including schoolchildren, sportspeople, legionnaires, majorettes, and Breton Celtic circles.

In 2013, just after the completion of his European tour of masked winter celebrations (Wilder Mann), Charles Fréger set off on a photographic expedition to explore Japan's ritual masked figures. This is the subject of Yokainoshima: through an inventory of these masked figures, to portray the Japanese countryside, the traditions that mark the lives of its inhabitants, and the land they walk and work on.
The title 'Yokainoshima' was invented by the artist. It could be translated as 'the island of spirits and monsters', in reference to the supernatural beings that live around us and cause mysterious phenomena.

60003257_11.jpg

The Musée des Confluences' Japanese collection

The Japanese collection at the Musée des Confluences is the fruit of four collections that were formed over the course of the nineteenth century: that of the Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, the Musée Guimet de Lyon, the Musée National des Arts Asiatiques – Guimet in Paris and the Œuvres Pontificales Missionnaires in Lyon.

In 1876, Émile Guimet (who was born in Lyon in 1836 and died in Fleurieu-sur-Saône in 1918) undertook a three-month journey in Japan, as part of a scientific mission on the study of religions, which was funded by the Ministry of Public Instruction. He brought back a significant collection of Buddhist art, including three hundred paintings, six hundred sculptures and a thousand books from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. The objects brought back by Émile Guimet are considered to be the true origin of the Musée des Confluence's Japanese collection.

Among these collections displayed, you can discover exhibits such as a set of Samurai armour, lacquerware, ceramics, noh masks and portraits of monks. Observe and listen, as each object has a story to tell...

 
 

The exhibition trail

Welcomed by the powerful sound of the taiko drum, you enter a dream world, inspired by Japanese theatre. In the centre of the room, a glowing temple overlooks the exhibition. Japanese tales set to music resonate all around. Nearly 80 brilliantly coloured photographs taken by Charles Fréger are featured along the walls, and more than 200 collection objects are displayed. Welcome to the exhibition Yokainoshima, spirits of Japan
 

 
 
 
 
EG2378_13.jpg
 

Invoke

In order to seek healing, prosperity or protection from negative forces, Japanese people call on the many divinities and spirits that are part of their traditions on a daily basis. They invoke them with offerings (such as ex-votos, amulets and prayer sticks) and during rituals, performed at home or at temples and sanctuaries.

 
 
DMG14461_19.jpg

The demons

Seen as mysterious and harmful forces, these demonic figures are feared as it is believed they can cause various torments, such as a violent death, war or sickness.  During the night of Setsubun on the 3rd of February, oni demons, resembling ogres with horns and fangs, are said to descend among humans to devour them and make them sick. To chase them away, Japanese people throw beans and perform rites of exorcism.

 
 

Incarnate

During many traditional ceremonies and shows, divinities invoked are incarnated in human beings or objects. Masks and costumes are essential for the proper performance of these possession rites. They enable performers to transform themselves into the incarnated spirit (divinity or demon), miming its gestures according to codes that are firmly established in the community.

 
 
 
 
Namahage Oga prefecture d'Akita_Japon_Charles Fréger 2013.jpg

The namahage

The festival of Namahage is held every 31st of December in 80 villages on the Oga Peninsula. The Namahage are "guest gods" of the New Year. They come down from the mountains to visit houses, lecture children and berate people for laziness. They leave only once they have been satisfied by their hosts. Their arrival brings good luck for the coming year.

 
 

Perform

The performance of the actor in the art of noh differs from the incarnation of divinities during traditional festivals and masked rituals. While the practice of noh is derived from these spiritual events, the performance of actors goes beyond imitating the gestures of a spirit as established by a community: they tell a story in a personal and creative way. This theatrical form is thought to calm the dead and entertain the divinities.

 
 
 
 
70011619_05.jpg

The art of noh

A noh theatre performance lasts from five to six hours and includes five plays, interspersed with another comic form of theatre: kyôgen. .

 
 
 

Practical information

 

 
 
 
 
mdc_0634.jpg
 
 

OPENING HOURS
Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday from 11 am to 7 pm
Thursday from 11 am to 10 pm
Saturday, Sunday and public holidays from 10 am to 7 pm

Closing hours
Monday and the 1st of January, 1st of May and 25th of December
Ticket offices close at 6.15 pm | 9.15 pm on Thursday

 

PRICES
Permanent and temporary exhibitions: single ticket, valid for a day

  • Adult (full price) – €9
  • Adult (discounted price) – €6
  • Adult (from 5 pm onwards) – €6
  • Young working people 18-25 years – €5
  • Children aged under 18 – Free
  • Students aged under 26 – Free

INFORMATION
Tel. +33 (04)4 28 38 12 12
E-mail : contact@museedesconfluences.fr

 

HOW TO GET HERE
Musée des Confluences
86 quai Perrache, Lyon 2e district

  • Main entrance (Crystal): individual visitors and groups for unguided visits
  • Group entrance (to the right of the main staircase): groups with a tour guide, visitors with reduced-mobility, access for families with pushchairs
  • Auditorium entrance (Rhône-side): direct access during shows, conferences and events. The building’s doors open one hour before the event. The room opens 20 minutes before the event.

TRANSPORT
Stop « musée des Confluences »
Tramway— Line T1
Bus— C7, C10, 15, 63
Car— Musée des Confluences car park
Remember to validate your car park ticket at the museum!
Tony Garnier car park
Share a ride! Go to the car sharing website www.covoiturage-grandlyon.com
Vélov' bike rental— Station on the square in front of the museum

Yokainoshima, esprits du Japon

07.07.2018 - 25.08.2019

 
 
 
YOKAINOSHIMA_Charles FREGER home.jpg

L'exposition

Au Japon, divinités et êtres surnaturels sont omniprésents. Tout au long de l’année, lors des rites masqués, le port de costumes permet de les invoquer pour demander protection, richesse et bonheur. L’exposition trace un lien entre les photographies contemporaines de Charles Fréger, qui donnent à voir un grand nombre de figures masquées rituelles, et les collections japonaises du musée.

Laissez-vous guider dans cette île aux esprits et aux monstres, depuis les fondements des spiritualités japonaises jusqu’aux pratiques actuelles comme le manga, le cosplay ou le jeu vidéo.

Cette exposition s’inscrit dans le cadre des commémorations franco-japonaises et du programme associé « Japonismes 2018 »

 
 
YOKAINOSHIMA_Charles FREGER (2).jpg

Charles Fréger - Portraits photographiques et uniformes

Charles Fréger travaille à travers le monde, depuis le début des années 2000, sur des séries de portraits au sein de groupes, tous engagés dans une démarche d’appartenance à un collectif: écoliers, sportifs, légionnaires, majorettes, cercles celtiques de Bretagne.

En 2013, son tour d’Europe des mascarades hivernales (Wilder Mann) tout juste achevé, Charles Fréger entreprend une campagne photographique explorant les figures masquées rituelles du Japon. C’est là le sujet de Yokainoshima : par l’inventaire de ces figures masquées, peindre le visage des campagnes japonaises, des traditions qui rythment la vie des habitants et de la terre qu’ils foulent et travaillent.
Yokainoshima est un titre inventé par l’artiste, qui pourrait être traduit par « l’île aux esprits et aux monstres », et fait référence aux entités surnaturelles vivant tout autour de nous et générant des phénomènes mystérieux.

60003257_11.jpg

LEs collections japonaises du musée des Confluences

Les collections japonaises du musée des Confluences sont le fruit de quatre fonds de collections qui se sont constitués dans le courant du 19e siècle : le fonds du muséum d’Histoire naturelle, le fonds du musée Guimet de Lyon, les dépôts du musée des arts asiatiques – Guimet à Paris et le dépôt des Œuvres Pontificales Missionnaires à Lyon.

En 1876, le lyonnais Emile Guimet (1836-1876) réalise un voyage de 3 mois au Japon, dans le cadre d’une mission scientifique portant sur l’étude des religions et financée par le ministère de l’Instruction publique. Il en rapporte une importante collection d’art bouddhique : trois cents peintures, six cents sculptures et mille livres datant des 18e et 19e siècles. Cette collecte d’Émile Guimet est considérée comme étant véritablement à l’origine des collections japonaises du musée.

Dans l’exposition, vous découvrirez parmi ces collections, un ensemble d’armures de samouraïs, des laques, des céramiques ou encore des masques de nô, des portraits de moines etc. Ouvrez les yeux, tendez l’oreille, chaque objet a une histoire à vous raconter…

 
 

Le parcours de l'exposition

Accueilli par le son puissant du tambour taiko, vous pénétrez dans un univers rêvé, inspiré du théâtre japonais. Au centre de la salle, un temple rougeoyant surplombe l’exposition. Des contes japonais mis en musique résonnent tout autour. Près de 80 photographies de Charles Fréger s’imposent le long des murs aux couleurs éclatantes et plus de 200 objets de collection sont mis en scène. Bienvenu dans l’exposition Yokainoshima, esprits du Japon

 
 
 
 
EG2378_13.jpg
 

Invoquer

Pour obtenir la guérison, la prospérité ou la protection face aux forces négatives, les Japonais font appel quotidiennement à la multitude de divinités et d’esprits qui peuplent leurs traditions. Ils les  invoquent par des offrandes (ex-voto, amulettes, bâtons de prières) et au cours de rites, réalisés chez soi ou par des visites aux temples et aux sanctuaires.

 
 
DMG14461_19.jpg

Les démons

Considérés comme des forces mystérieuses et néfastes, les figures démoniaques sont craintes car pouvant engendrer divers tourments : une mort violente, la guerre ou la maladie. Lors de la nuit de Setsubun le 3 février, les démons oni, sorte d’ogres dotés de cornes et de crocs, descendent parmi les hommes pour les dévorer et les rendre malades. Pour les faire fuir, les Japonais jettent des haricots et pratiquent des rites d’exorcisme.

 
 

Incarner

Au cours de nombreux spectacles et cérémonies traditionnelles, les divinités invoquées sont s’incarnent dans des êtres humains ou dans des objets. Les masques et les costumes sont essentiels au bon déroulement de ces rites de possession. Ils permettent aux interprètes de se transformer en l’esprit incarné – divinité ou démon-, mimant ses gestes selon des codes bien définis par la communauté.

 
 
 
 
Namahage Oga prefecture d'Akita_Japon_Charles Fréger 2013.jpg

Les namahage

La fête de Namahage à lieu tous les 31 décembre dans 80 villages de la péninsule d’Oga. Les namahage sont des dieux « invités » du Nouvel An. Ils descendent des montagnes pour visiter les maisons, sermonner les enfants et réprimander la paresse. Ils ne repartent qu’une fois rassasiés par leurs hôtes. Leur venue porte bonheur pour l’année à venir.

 
 

Interpréter

L’interprétation de l’acteur dans l’art du se distingue des incarnations de divinités au cours des fêtes et rituels masqués traditionnels. Si la pratique du découle de ces événements spirituels, le jeu de l’acteur dépasse l’imitation des gestes d’un esprit, établis par la communauté : il raconte une histoire de façon personnelle et créative. Cette forme théâtrale vient apaiser les morts et divertir les divinités.

 
 
 
 
70011619_05.jpg

L'art du

Une séance de dure 5 à 6 heures et comporte cinq pièces, intercalées d'une autre forme théâtrale comique, le kyâgen.

 

 

En images